UPDATE: Cowboys Finalize Practice Squad Following Waiver Period

Matt Galatzan
September 01, 2019 - 1:45 pm

DALLAS (105.3 The Fan) - Following the 53-man roster cut down, as well as the waiver period on Sunday morning, the Dallas Cowboys have assembled their 10-man practice squad. 

In perhaps the most surprising move of the bunch, the Cowboys elected to part ways with both Taryn Christion and 2018 5th round pick Mike White in order to sign former Eagles quarterback and Northwestern star, Clayton Thorson. 

Thorson, who was selected in the fifth round of this year's draft, threw for 10,731 yards and 61 touchdowns in four years at Northwestern and finished fourth in Big Ten history in total passing yards. 

The Cowboys also elected to sign former Minnesota Vikings tight end, Cole Hikutini, with the Louisville alum being the only other outside candidate that the team would sign to the squad.

Other names on the list for Dallas were more familiar, including running back Jordan Chunn (who has now been reportedly been promoted to the 53-man roster), defensive end Daniel Wise, wideout Cedrick Wilson, and defensive backs Donovan Olumba and Mike Jackson. 

The Cowboys will also re-sign offensive tackle and Mitch Hyatt and linebacker Chris Covington after releasing them in cuts on Saturday.

UPDATE: In a late move on Monday morning, the Cowboys sent RB Jordan Chunn up to the 53-man roster, and added previously cut back Mike Weber to the practice squad. They also added big-bodied wideout Ventell Bryant to the practice squad, in place of linebacker Kyle Queiro.

View the complete list of practice squad signings below:

QB Clayton Thorson

RB Mike Weber

WR Cedrick Wilson

WR Ventell Byant 

TE Cole Hikutini

OT Mitch Hyatt

DE Daniel Wise

LB Chris Covington 

CB Mike Jackson

CB Donovan Olumba