Cowboys Dak Prescott Nominated For NFL's Prestigious Rooney Award

Mike Fisher
November 15, 2018 - 11:51 am
Dak Prescott

AP Photo/Gus Ruelas,m File


FRISCO (105.3 THE FAN) - Quarterback Dak Prescott is this year’s Dallas Cowboys team representative for the NFL’s Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Prescott, the third-year Cowboys’ starter, is among 32 nominees on a list that that includes standouts like Drew Brees, Julius Peppers, Antonio Gates and Carson Wentz.

Each team nominates a player for the award, which was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers. The award recognizes NFL players who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field. The winner is determined by a vote of current NFL players.

The award was first won by Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald in 2014. Other winners are cornerback Charles Woodson (2015), running back Frank Gore (2016) and linebacker Luke Kuechly (2017).

This year's nominees are:

Corey Peters (Arizona), Alex Mack (Atlanta), Eric Weddle (Baltimore), Kyle Williams (Buffalo), Julius Peppers (Carolina), Cody Whitehair (Chicago), A.J. Green (Cincinnati), Joel Bitonio (Cleveland), Dak Prescott (Dallas), Domata Peko (Denver), Don Muhlbach (Detroit), Tramon Williams. (Green Bay), Jonathan Joseph (Houston), Andrew Luck (Indianapolis), Calais Campbell (Jacksonville), Sammy Watkins (Kansas City), Antonio Gates (LA Chargers), Todd Gurley (LA Rams), Frank Gore (Miami), Danielle Hunter (Minnesota), Matthew Slater (New England), Drew Brees (New Orleans), Rhett Ellison (NY Giants), Steve McLendon (NY Jets), Derek Carr (Oakland), Carson Wentz (Philadelphia), David DeCastro (Pittsburgh), Joe Staley (San Francisco), Tyler Lockett (Seattle), Lavonte David (Tampa Bay), Marcus Mariota (Tennessee) and Vernon Davis (Washington).